Jan Stewart Memorial Wellness Lecture Series

Jan Stewart Lecture 2018 - Coming Soon! 

Jan Stewart Speaker supported by the AANA Foundation 

You can contribute to the AANA Foundation to support the Jan Stewart Memorial Wellness Lecture Series, which provides a topic at each AANA Nurse Anesthesia Annual Congress to increase awareness of anesthesia professionals' occupational risk of substance use disorder.

AANA Fun Walk/Run net proceeds allocated to the AANA Foundation's Jan Stewart Memorial Fund to help support future speakers in the series: 2015 $9,320 and 2016 $13,355.  

Please designate "Wellness/Jan Stewart Fund" when making your donation.

Give Today


Past Annual Meeting​ Speaker/Topic​

#14: 2017, Seattle
"Safe Anesthesia Care of the Patient with Substance Use Disorder" panel discussion featuring speakers Brad Hutto, MHS, CRNA, Brian Selai, MSN, CRNA, USGRA and Jessica Switzman, MSN, CRNA moderated by Linda Stone, DNP, CRNA. 

#13: 2016, Washington, D.C.

CAPT George Ceremuga, DO "Self-Care for the Mind, Body and Spirit" 

  • Wellness Milestones article: 2016 Jan Stewart Memorial Lecture Preview: An Interview with George Ceremuga - July 2016 (PDF)

#12: 2015, Salt Lake City
William B. Baun, EPD, CWP, FAWP (1948 - 2016) "Empowering Calm Through Engaged Resilience"

  • Wellness Milestone article on conversation with Bill Baun: Occupational Stress and the Resilience to Overcome - July 2015 (PDF)
  • Lecture offered in the AANA Learn Wellness catalog for CRNAs 
    and student nurse anesthetists learning and stress reduction.

#11: 2014, Orlando
Anita Bertrand, CRNA, MS "Making Lemonade: One CRNA's Story of Addiction and Recovery" 

#10: 2013, Las Vegas
Maria van Pelt, CRNA, MS, MSN "The Aftermath of Perioperative Catastrophes: Our (CRNAs) Voices are Finally Heard!"

#9: 2012, San Francisco
Chris Crowley "Younger Next Year"

#8: 2011, Boston

Martin Iguchi, PhD "How Goes the War on Drugs?"

#7: 2010, Seattle

Delancy Street Foundation "The Power to Change" conversation with Wellness Committee members Terry Wicks, CRNA, MHS and Patti Bright, CRNA, MS

#6: 2009, San Diego

Jeanne Stawiecki, CRNA "Ordinary to Extraordinary"

#5: 2008, Minneapolis

David Romanelli "Livin' the Moment"

#4: 2007, Denver

William Cope Moyers "Further Along the Broken Road to Recovery"

#3: 2006, Cleveland

Mark Therrien "Laughter is Contagious" (Broken Links

#2: 2005, Washington, D.C.

Michael Roizen, MD "Real Age: Getting Younger and Being Healthier"

#1: 2004, Seattle

Douglas Cook, MD "CRNA, An At Risk Provider"

About Jan Stewart

Named after our respected colleague, 1999 - 2000 AANA President Jan Stewart, CRNA, ARNP, the Jan Stewart Memorial Wellness Lecture Series features speakers on wellness-related topics at each AANA Nurse Anesthesia Annual Congress. 

See Jan Stewart In Memoriam

  • Jan's achievements as AANA President
  • Jan's daughter Sarah speaks about her mother in the About Wellness video

Photo Highlights

Jan Stewart 2017 SeattleLeft to right, 2017 Panelists Brian Selai, MSN, CRNA, Jessica Switzman, MSN, CRNA, Brad Hutto, MHS, CRNA, and moderator Linda Stone, CRNA, DNP, Chair AANA Peer Assistance Advisors Committee, and Sarah Stewart Gomes.


Jan Stewart Speakers 1Left to right, Linda Stone, CRNA, DNP, Chair AANA Peer Assistance Advisors Committee, 2015 speaker William B. Baun, EPD, CWP, FAWP (1948 - 2016), and LCDR Tiffany Uranga, CRNA, DNP, NC, USN, FY 15-16 Chair AANA Health and Wellness Committee. Bill passed away in November 2016, condolences to his family and continued gratitude for Bill's resilient spirit he shared so generously with us.  You'll find video of his lecture (1 CE) on AANA Learn in the Wellness catalog: Jan Stewart Memorial Wellness Lecture: Empowering Calm Through Engaged Resilience



Jan Stewart Speakers 2Left to right, 2014 speaker Anita Bertrand, CRNA, MS; Linda Stone, CRNA, MSN, chair AANA Peer Assistance Advisors Committee; Sarah Stewart Gomes and daughter Amelya.




Jan Stewart Speakers 32013 speaker Maria van Pelt, CRNA, MS, MSN being introduced by FY 2013 AANA Health and Wellness Committee Chair, Janet Dewan, CRNA, MS