AANA Updates

CRNAs Brydges, Elisha, and Riddle Among Nursing’s Most Influential Leaders

  • Jul 27, 2018

For Immediate Release: July 27, 2018
For more information, contact: AANA Public Relations

Park Ridge, Illinois – Three Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) will be inducted as fellows in the American Academy of Nursing’s (AAN) 2018 highly distinguished academy class. The honorees are Garry Brydges, DNP, MBA, CRNA, ACNP-BC; Sassoon Elisha, EdD, APRN, CRNA; and J. Dru Riddle, PhD, DNP, CRNA.

Garry Brydges is the chief nurse anesthetist at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas. Brydges has had extensive success in leading large organizations through healthcare policy development, strategic planning, evidence-based practice, outcome research, and education. In addition, he has mentored students across all nursing disciplines through professional development and clinical nursing excellence. Brydges is currently the AANA President-elect and will take office in September 2018.

Sassoon Elisha is the assistant director at Kaiser Permanente School of Anesthesia/California State University, Fullerton. Additionally, he is adjunct faculty at California State University, Fullerton. In these roles, Elisha routinely provides written expert testimony related to standards of anesthesia care and practice and serves as an educational consultant. He is the co-author or sole author of three books, including Nurse Anesthesia, Case Studies in Nurse Anesthesia, and Critical Events in Anesthesia: A Clinical Guide for Nurse Anesthetists.   Elisha also has contributed chapters to numerous textbooks.

J. Dru Riddle is an associate professor of Professional Practice, School of Anesthesia at Texas Christian University (TCU) in Fort Worth, Texas. At TCU he is responsible for oversight and coordination of DNP projects and didactic instruction on chemistry, health assessment, and health policy. Riddle is also the director of the Center for Translational Research: A JBI Center of Excellence. The focus of this center is to shorten the gap between the discovery of new knowledge and clinical implementation.

All three honorees are members of the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists.

The AAN is an organization of distinguished nursing leaders who are recognized for their outstanding contributions to the profession through publications, research, awards and honors, professional activities, and community service. The academy’s Fellows represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and 24 countries. The induction will take place during the academy’s 2018 Annual Policy Conference in Washington, D.C., November 1-3.

About the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists

Press Releases